Skip to Main Content

Monett Senior Recieves John Dennis Scholarship


Graduating Monett High School Senior Cooper Scott Caldwell has been awarded the John Dennis Scholarship from the Missouri Sheriff's Association.  This scholarship is awarded to 16 seniors in the state of Missouri each year. 
The award was established in 1988 in honor of former Scott County Sheriff John Dennis. Dennis served his county for 24 years and, in 1963, was elected president of the Missouri Sheriffs' Association. In 1976 Dennis retired from the office of sheriff following a successful campaign for the Missouri Senate seat in District 27, a position he held until his retirement from state government 1992.
In 1988, Dennis was presented a Distinguished Service Award at which time the establishment of the John Dennis Scholarship Fund was announced. Since that time, the award has been given to Missouri students pursuing careers in the criminal justice field.