Skip to Main Content

Miller High School Senior to receive John Dennis Scholarship


Jake Reynolds, a senior at Miller High School has been selected to recieve the John Dennis Scholarship Award.  Reynolds is one of only 16 Seniors selected statewide by the Missouri Sheriff's Association to receive the $1,000.00 scholarship.

The award was established in 1988 in honor of former Scott County Sheriff John Dennis.  Dennis served his county for 24 years, and in 1963, was elected president of the Missouri Sheriff's Association.  In 1976 Dennis retired from the office of sheriff following a successful campaign for the Missouri Senate seat in District 27, a position he held until his retirement from state government in 1992.

In 1988, Dennis was presented a Distingquished Service Award at which time the establishment of the John Dennis Scholarship Fund was announed.  Since that time, the award has been given to Missouri students pursuing careers in the criminal justice field.