Sheriff's Office to participate in DWI Enforcement.
You Drink & Drive. You Lose.
Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Cracking Down on Impaired Drivers
Lawrence County, Missouri - The Lawrence County Sheriff's Office received a grant from the Missouri Department of Transportation's Highway Safety Division for participation in the You Drink & Drive. You Lose. campaign to stop people from driving impaired. Enforcement efforts will be increased March 12-14 and will focus on reducing deaths and serious injuries caused by impaired drivers.
"It's never worth the risk to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol," stated Sheriff Brad DeLay. "Whether its your license, your money or your life - You Drink and Drive. You Lose."
Consider some of the consequences if you are caught driving while intoxicated:
- For the first conviction (or first conviction in over five years), your license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60-day suspension if a hardship license is not obtained.
- A second conviction results in a $1,000 fine, a yearlong revocation of your license and up to a year in jail. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle, preventing your car from starting when you have alcohol on your breath.
- Third and subsequent convictions can be penalized with up to a $5,000 fine, a 10-year license denial, and/or up to seven years in jail.
- If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you could be charged with Involuntary Manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5,000 fine or both.
- Insurance coverage will be difficult to find and if you do the rates will be significantly higher
For more information, please visit save MOlives.com.