Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Lawrence County Sheriff's Office
     
Home History of the Sheriff's Office Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts
Administration
Bailiff Division
Detective Division
Dispatch
Emergency Management
Frequently Asked Questions
Jail Division
Inmate Roster
Patrol Division
Reserve Division
Victim's Advocate
Warrants
Deadbeats
Crime Tip HOTline 888-635-TIPS (8477) or submit via email

Phone:
(417) 466-2131
(24 hours)

Crimestopper Hotline:
(888) 635-TIPS (8477)

Email
Map

240 North Main, Suite 10
Mt. Vernon, MO 65712

Administrative Office Hours:  M-F 8am - 4pm
 
     
06/28/2010

Lawrence County Sheriff's Office Cracking Down on Impaired Drivers Fourth of July Weekend

You Drink & Drive.  You Lose.

Lawrence County - The Lawrence County Sheriff's Office received a grant from the Missouri Department of Transportation's Highway Safety Division for participation in the You Drink & Drive. You Lose. campaign to stop people from driving impaired over the Fourth of July holiday weekend.  Enforcement efforts will be increased July 2-5 and will focus on reducing deaths and serious injuries caused by impaired drivers.

"Don't risk it - if you plan to drink, don't drive," stated Sheriff DeLay.  "Whether it is your license, your money or your life - You Drink and Drive.  You Lose."

Consider some of the consequences if you are caught driving while intoxicated:

  • For the first conviction (or first conviction in over five years), your license will be suspended for 30 days followed by a 60-day suspension if a hardship license is not obtained.
  • A second conviction results in a $1,000 fine, a yearlong revocation of your license and up to a year in jail.  You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle, preventing your car from starting when you have alcohol on your breath.
  • Third and subsequent convictions can be penalized with up to a $5000 fine, a 10-year license denial, and/or up to seven years in jail.
  • If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you could be charged with Involuntary Manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5000 fine or both.
  • Insurance coverage will be difficult to find and if you do the rates will be significantly higher.

For more information, please visit www.saveMOlives.com.

 

 
     Lawrence County Sheriff's Office | © 2014
     Lawrence County, Missouri